INCURSION, The Necromancer's Key book 1 -- released!

INCURSION is finally out in the world!

This is my eighth novel and the first in a new series: The Necromancer’s Key. The series is set in the same world as REVENANT WINDS, SHADOW OF THE EXILE AND DAWN OF THE EXILE. I think the book turned out well, but I am biased…!

You can pick up a copy here at Amazon or if you prefer audiobooks at Audible.
And the print book is here: Amazon


A corrupted power stirs from beyond the grave.
A sacred order of knights sworn to protect the world from evil.
The Necromancer Queen will rise again.

Seventeen years have passed since the Necromancer Queen Talia was overthrown and slain, and her capital city destroyed by the Knights of the Order of Eternal Vigilance.

Anskar DeVantte, raised in the sacred disciplines of the Order, is now ready to face the brutal initiation trials to become a consecrated knight-sorcerer.

But the further Anskar rises in the ranks the more his faith wavers, and he is beset by harrowing dreams and uncertainty. As troubling powers awaken within him, a schism grows between Anskar and his hallowed Order, and he draws the hungry gaze of the vanquished queen’s fanatical followers.

As Anskar pieces together the mysteries of his early life, and begins to understand the malevolent forces gathering in his path, he finds himself with a crucial choice to make:

Remain loyal to the Order’s righteous mission, or control the dark powers growing within him.

Either way, his destiny is steeped in war. The only question is, which side will he be on?


  1. Todd says:

    Just started Incursion, and am really enjoying it. Is good to see that you have so many books in the hopper, lots of good reading to come. Thanks!

    • MitchellH says:

      Glad you’re enjoying the read! Definitely plenty more books to come, and book 2 of this series will be out in 5-6 months.

  2. bigfan says:

    I can’t wait for book 2. Great job!

  3. ahimsa42 says:


    is this series going to be 4 books or 5? the in progress section states 5 books but also states it is 100% completed with only 4 books listed.

    also hope info about the 2 secret projects will be forthcoming soon.


    • MitchellH says:

      Hi! The series will be five books, but I must have forgotten to correct the progress bar.
      Once the secret projects are no longer secret, then I can provide more information. Stay tuned!

      • ahimsa42 says:

        awesome, thanks much Mitchell and i’m looking forward to all of them. it’s very impressive how prolific you are-especially considering all of the different story lines/universes you’re working on. you are almost at a Brandon Sanderson level of creative output, lol.

        • MitchellH says:

          I don’t know about that! But I’m getting some writing done (probably split over too many different books though).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *